Carol Glamuzina: 2018 Award for Educator of the Year Tangata Tiriti

The 2018 ACE Aotearoa Annual Award for Educator of the Year Tangata Tiriti has been awarded to Carol Glamuzina.

For over 28 years Carol Glamuzina has been associated with Literacy Waitākere and Literacy Aotearoa. She has played a significant part in building the foundations for current adult literacy and numeracy provision in roles which include:

  • adult literacy/numeracy tutor
  • tutor trainer
  • co-ordinator
  • board member
  • quality assurance manager
  • business development manager
  • supremo writer of funding applications.

Her current role is that of Community Engagement Manager at Ranui Action Project, in West Auckland.

As an adult literacy tutor Carol was one of the true pioneers of student-led kaupapa. Carol believed strongly that adult learners needed access to stories like their own and worked with learners to help them find their voice. Booklets of student writing were produced and shared on a quarterly basis. Carol also helped compile, edit and publish a range of student writing books. These are still current and used today.

In 1995 Waitakere WEA Adult Literacy Centre was awarded by UNESCO “An Honourable mention in the International Reading Association Literacy Award”. Carol was at the helm at the time and was instrumental in writing the submission.

Carol was also a key player in developing the ACE literacy training as an accredited programme that could be evaluated for quality and she developed a ‘literacy audit’ which was offered to businesses as a fee-paying service.

At Literacy Aotearoa’s national office, Carol oversaw the writing and publication of Te Poutama Painga, a comprehensive national quality assurance system for the whole of Literacy Aotearoa. Member providers around the motu were also supported and helped to identify concerns and find solutions.

Always a humble and unassuming but driven worker, Carol has worked tirelessly to serve adult literacy learners in our community.

Click here to see the 2018 award winners.