Community Learning Association through Schools (CLASS)

Community Learning Association through Schools (CLASS) is the organisation representing community educators working through New Zealand secondary schools. The aim of CLASS is ‘accessible education for adults’/ Mātauranga Tangata I Roto I Nga Kura.

President: Greg Hoskins
Phone: (09) 441 9774

English Language Partners New Zealand

With 7,500 learners, 3,000 volunteers, 280 staff and 23 locations, English Language Partners is Aotearoa New Zealand’s largest organisation working with migrants and refugees. The association provides a range of English language and settlement services to refugees and migrants who have come to New Zealand to live permanently. The association website provides information and resources.

CEO: Nicola Sutton
PO Box 12114, Wellington 6144

192 Tinakori Road, Thorndon
Phone: 04 471 2382

Federation of WEAs

WEAs are groups of mainly voluntary workers who come together to ensure that adult New Zealanders have opportunities to engage in information sharing and dialogue about matters of mutual concern. WEAs offer ongoing courses and seminar programmes, forums, discussion groups and support for community initiatives.
WEAs offer open entry, no examinations, low cost non-formal learning.

Hei Ara Kokiri: Tuwharetoa Education Initiative

An Education Partnership between Tuwharetoa and the Crown has been in existence since 1999. Hei Ara Kokiri is based at 81 Horomatangi St in Taupo. Initiatives include Whakapakari Whanau A Akoranga (Supporting Families for Learning; literacy programmes for adults at school children, early childhood education, He Ara Tika – Tuwharetoa Mentoring, and a Community-Based language Initiative.

Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board

Town Centre


Postal Address:
The Secretary

Tuwharetoa Maori Trust Board
PO Box 87
Turangi 2751

New Zealand

Phone: 07 386 8832

Industry Training Federation

The Industry Training Federation (ITF) is a membership-based organisation, representing Industry Training Organisations (ITOs) to government and working with agencies and sector groups to improve the policy for and delivery of industry training.

There are currently 41 ITOs, all of which are represented by the ITF. All ITOs are listed on the ITFs web site – contact page.

Level 2, 276 Cuba St

Entrance on Karo Drive (inner city bypass)

PO Box 24-194

Wellington 6142

Institutes of Technology and Polytechnics of New Zealand (ITP New Zealand)

ITP NZ is the collective voice that represents 19 institutes of technology and polytechnics around the country.
ITP New Zealand develops and promotes policies, acts as an advocacy body, and promotes academic quality, among other things, on behalf of its 19 members.

PO Box 10087, Wellington, New Zealand

Level 12, St John House, 114 The Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand

Phone: 04 471 1162

Literacy Aotearoa

Literacy Aotearoa is a treaty-based organisation providing a nationwide service delivering literacy and numeracy tuition by paid and volunteer personnel.

The website includes information on resources, training, publications, events and submissions.

Literacy Aotearoa,

Back Suite
449 Richmond Road

Grey Lynn
Private Bag 78800

Tamaki Makaurau / Auckland 1245 

Phone: 09 378 2080

Pasifika Education Centre

The Pasifika Education Centre promotes life long learning for Pacific people in the Adult and Community Education (ACE) sector. Community Advisors network and work with other ACE providers to ensure initiatives are in place to meet the needs of Adult Pacific learners.

Top Floor, Building 7, 17 Lambie Drive, Papatoetoe 2014, Manukau, New Zealand
PO Box 22-654, Otahuhu, Auckland 1640, New Zealand
Phone: 09 260 4042

Rural Education Activities Programme (REAP) Aotearoa NZ

REAP Aotearoa NZ (RANZ) is the umbrella body for the 13 REAPs throughout Aotearoa/ NZ.

REAPs exist to provide lifelong learning support to their communities through multiple work streams, including early childhood, working with schools and adult and community education. 

REAPs work varies in each of the regions. Much of the work in REAPs is of a developmental nature. 
REAPs are funded by the Ministry of Education.

The thirteen REAPs are: Far North REAP (Kaitaia), Eastbay REAP (Whakatane), Tairawhiti REAP (Gisborne), Central Plateau REAP (Taupo), Ruapehu REAP (Taihape), Central King Country REAP (Taumarunui), Tararua REAP (Dannevirke), Wairarapa REAP (Masterton), Marlborough REAP (Blenheim), Buller REAP (Westport), West REAP (Hokitika), Central Otago REAP (Alexandra) and Southern REAP (Winton).

Te Ataarangi

Te Ataarangi is a well-established method of learning and teaching te reo Māori. It is a total-immersion programme that uses räkau or cuisenaire rods for learning. The website provides information about the range of degree and certificate level courses.